Live for Speed - LFS Main Site
- LFS World
- LFS News
- LFS Manual
- LFS Merchandise
  http://www.australasianleague.com/

Go Back   Live for Speed > Other > Off Topic

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 17th March 2009, 17:14   #1  -   
Jakg
S2 licensed
 
Jakg's Avatar
 
Racername: UKCT..Jakg
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: East Anglia, UK
Posts: 19,095
Jakg's online stats
Warcraft 2 in Windows 7?

I've been playing Warcraft 3 in Windows 7 on my laptop recently and been getting quite into it (used to play it waaaay back when it came out). But Warcraft 3 is too hero based, as opposed to Warcraft 2 which was more unit-y.

However Warcraft 2 doesn't install in 7 and I keep hearing stuff about DOSBox which I don't understand at all.

Could someone help me get it installed please?
Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2009, 17:46   #2  -   
NotAnIllusion
S2 licensed
 
NotAnIllusion's Avatar
 
Racername: Pringles
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Helsinki
Posts: 5,273
NotAnIllusion's online stats
Have you tried installing DOSBox? It really couldn't be any easier than following the instructions.. http://www.dosbox.com/wiki/Basic_Set...tion_of_DosBox
__________________
Pringles Autocross | Some F1 driver stats (after Bahrain race) | TimePiece for AC | Ostat for AC
Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2009, 17:47   #3  -   
boosterfire
S2 licensed
 
boosterfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 662
boosterfire's online stats
Maybe the god of the games don't want you to hurt yourself by losing at WCII? I haven't played it in years, but IIRC, this thing was bloody impossible to beat (okay, maybe I failed back then ).

Besides, I like the heros in WCIII, it adds something to the game. Go pally go!

My bet is just that WCII is way too old to be installed on 7.
__________________
The HTC Evo: It ****ing prints money
Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2009, 17:52   #4  -   
Jakg
S2 licensed
 
Jakg's Avatar
 
Racername: UKCT..Jakg
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: East Anglia, UK
Posts: 19,095
Jakg's online stats
Heroes are rubbish - it looses the whole "this is the enemy base now beat it" to "protect the wierd other hero who sucks"

Plus I like Humans vs Orcs. Not Humans vs Undead, or Undead vs Orcs
Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2009, 17:54   #5  -   
arco
S2 licensed
 
arco's Avatar
 
Racername: n\A.Coucheron
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,042
arco's online stats
DOSBox is an emulator with DOS, which you can use to run old DOS based programs in. Should be pretty straight forward to get it running if you read up on it.

http://www.dosbox.com/

Wasn't there a Windows version also of Warcraft 2?
__________________
Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2009, 17:58   #6  -   
Jakg
S2 licensed
 
Jakg's Avatar
 
Racername: UKCT..Jakg
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: East Anglia, UK
Posts: 19,095
Jakg's online stats
Quote:
Originally Posted by arco View Post
Wasn't there a Windows version also of Warcraft 2?
Yes, but it wouldn't install in Vista x32 - So I doubt that it'd work in 7 x64.
Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2009, 18:12   #7  -   
Jertje
S2 licensed
 
Jertje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,207
Jertje's online stats
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jakg View Post
Yes, but it wouldn't install in Vista x32 - So I doubt that it'd work in 7 x64.
Uh, I have Warcraft 2 installed on Vista 64 and it works just fine. You're looking for Warcraft 2: Battle.net Edition (BNE) and definitely not the original DOS version.
__________________
Minecraft: Menacenl
Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2009, 18:32   #8  -   
Jakg
S2 licensed
 
Jakg's Avatar
 
Racername: UKCT..Jakg
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: East Anglia, UK
Posts: 19,095
Jakg's online stats
Aha - thanks, will try that.

Have Warcraft 2 on CD legally - but not quite sure where I got the last file from...
Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2009, 23:26   #9  -   
mutt107
S2 licensed
 
mutt107's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Jackson TN
Posts: 3,424
mutt107's online stats
warcraft 2? is this from the same company that made world of warcraft? can i get a features list?
Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2009, 00:19   #10  -   
pb32000
S2 licensed
 
pb32000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,566
pb32000's online stats
Yes it's from Blizzard, it's also what, 10 years old?
__________________
I design, therefore iMac.
Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2009, 03:40   #11  -   
hazaky
S2 licensed
 
hazaky's Avatar
 
Racername: Hazaky
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 3,583
hazaky's online stats
Warcraft 2, good old times. I used to play it very much - when it came out. Interesting game, anyways. You could download Virtual Machine and install XP on ur PC. Set the amount of ram on it - as Warcraft is a old game, 200mb of ram for XP and it runs fine. I dont know if u get me right here. I have this Microsoft Virtual Machine installed and it works very fine. Im on Win7 but i can also run XP in "window" or even "full-screen". I use my virtual thingy for PHP learning stuff.
__________________
hazaky.eu
Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2009, 05:32   #12  -   
Shadowww
No longer welcome
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Riga, LV
Posts: 4,679
Hazaky is telling u nice things, but why XP?

Better install MS-DOS 6.22 in VirtualBox (both are free).
Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2009, 07:12   #13  -   
Jakg
S2 licensed
 
Jakg's Avatar
 
Racername: UKCT..Jakg
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: East Anglia, UK
Posts: 19,095
Jakg's online stats
Quote:
Originally Posted by pb32000 View Post
Yes it's from Blizzard, it's also what, 10 years old?
It was made in '95 so it's actually 14 years old...
Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2009, 08:12   #14  -   
pb32000
S2 licensed
 
pb32000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,566
pb32000's online stats
Blimey yer that is oldskool. I had Warcraft 1 once upon a time which I guess was on DOS, can't remember really. Good times though.
__________________
I design, therefore iMac.
Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2009, 12:13   #15  -   
Bob Smith
Moderator
 
Bob Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Sheffield, UK
Posts: 11,230
Bob Smith's online stats
I bought WarCraft back in the day. Was good fun, but the sequel did improve things a long a way. Everything happened much faster, which meant you could finally get an adrenaline rush going during battles, and super high res 640x480 graphics meant you could see what you were doing. Plus selecting 9 units at once instead of just 4 was a big step up. I couldn't get into number 3 as much either, had some nice touches but I just didn't find it addictive.
__________________
Vehicle Handling and Performance Analyser - In depth setup analysis for LFS and real world vehicles
Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2009, 20:52   #16  -   
DevilDare
S2 licensed
 
DevilDare's Avatar
 
Racername: DevilDare
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: England
Posts: 8,299
DevilDare's online stats
Went to my mates house yesterday, couldnt believe he had WC1. So cool and "oldskool". Unbeliavable how much different its to WC3:FT, its like walking squares xD
Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2009, 21:04   #17  -   
Jakg
S2 licensed
 
Jakg's Avatar
 
Racername: UKCT..Jakg
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: East Anglia, UK
Posts: 19,095
Jakg's online stats
Found Warcraft 2 Battlenet Edition - installed fine on Vista x64 - Installed but yet to run on 7...
Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2010, 23:04   #18  -   
S.82
Demo Racer
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1
S.82's online stats
O.o i've got Warcraft: Orcs & Humans, Warcraft II: Tides of darkness, Warcraft II: Beyond the dark portal, Warcraft III: Reign of Chaos, Warcraft III: The frozen throne. All oringinal discs, the only ones i can't get to work one way or another in windows 7 are Warcraft II (regular and expansion). I have the first game installed in Win98SE in Virtual PC 2007, warcraft III (reg and expansion) both install and run fine in windows 7 with XP compatability mode. been trying today to get Warcraft II to install and play. so far, it's just throwing errors in Win 98 SE in virtual PC and says yada yada 64 bit when trying to run it in windows.

can't get it to work with dosbox, virtual pc with win98se or any other way i've tried. (also couldn't get it to work in ubuntu yet, but still trying there)

!!!! got warcraft 2 working!

had to install the game in Windows 98 SE in Virtual PC, share a folder and copy it to the host machine (i put it in C:\) then install dosbox, set up the config for dosbox and run it AWESOME!

for the config file, you need to go to the bottom and add:
mount c C:\WAR2
mount d D:\ -t cdrom (replace D:\ with your cdrom's drive letter)
c:
war2

KAPOW! Works!!

for lan gaming:

in the config file, search for ipx, change it from false to true

at bottom, add:

host machine:
mount c C:\WAR2
mount d D:\ -t cdrom (replace D:\ with your cdrom's drive letter)
c:
ipxnet startserver
war2

extra pc's:
mount c C:\WAR2
mount d D:\ -t cdrom (replace D:\ with your cdrom's drive letter)
c:
ipxnet connect [ip address] (ie: ipxnet connect 192.168.1.5)
war2

really sweet old game, so happy to have it working on Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit!

Last edited by S.82; 2nd May 2010 at 00:37.
Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2010, 20:23   #19  -   
billyjoeandkatielynn
Demo Racer
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1
billyjoeandkatielynn's online stats
step by step warcraft 2 on windows 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by S.82 View Post
O.o i've got Warcraft: Orcs & Humans, Warcraft II: Tides of darkness, Warcraft II: Beyond the dark portal, Warcraft III: Reign of Chaos, Warcraft III: The frozen throne. All oringinal discs, the only ones i can't get to work one way or another in windows 7 are Warcraft II (regular and expansion). I have the first game installed in Win98SE in Virtual PC 2007, warcraft III (reg and expansion) both install and run fine in windows 7 with XP compatability mode. been trying today to get Warcraft II to install and play. so far, it's just throwing errors in Win 98 SE in virtual PC and says yada yada 64 bit when trying to run it in windows.

can't get it to work with dosbox, virtual pc with win98se or any other way i've tried. (also couldn't get it to work in ubuntu yet, but still trying there)

!!!! got warcraft 2 working!

had to install the game in Windows 98 SE in Virtual PC, share a folder and copy it to the host machine (i put it in C:\) then install dosbox, set up the config for dosbox and run it AWESOME!

for the config file, you need to go to the bottom and add:
mount c C:\WAR2
mount d D:\ -t cdrom (replace D:\ with your cdrom's drive letter)
c:
war2

KAPOW! Works!!

for lan gaming:

in the config file, search for ipx, change it from false to true

at bottom, add:

host machine:
mount c C:\WAR2
mount d D:\ -t cdrom (replace D:\ with your cdrom's drive letter)
c:
ipxnet startserver
war2

extra pc's:
mount c C:\WAR2
mount d D:\ -t cdrom (replace D:\ with your cdrom's drive letter)
c:
ipxnet connect [ip address] (ie: ipxnet connect 192.168.1.5)
war2

really sweet old game, so happy to have it working on Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit!
i know this is probably going to make me sound like an idiot but can u go step by step on how to share the files and everything from virtual pc to dosbox... i have warcraft 2 and i am getting ready to go to iraq and would like to play warcraft 2 on my laptop..... please help me out.
Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2010, 21:10   #20  -   
wien
S2 licensed
 
wien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,442
wien's online stats
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutt107 View Post
warcraft 2? is this from the same company that made world of warcraft? can i get a features list?
Christ I feel old. There are actual people walking around and typing on the internet that were born after Warcraft was released.
__________________
Oy! Keep your fingers out of my soup!
Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2011, 06:48   #21  -   
Shaddaye
Demo Racer
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1
Shaddaye's online stats
Hey there,

it's been a while and you probably found a way to fix your issue, but I'll post anyway in case it's useful for others.

When I tried installing Warcraft II, I encountered an issue, pop up of a '' can't run in full screen mode. Gotta terminate'', even with dosbox got same problem, tried changing the cmd settings, nothing worked.

What I did to make it run on windows 7 :

step 1 - disable graphic card (control panel) and it made it possible to run the installation without the error pop

step 2 - install the game (downloaded version) and mounted it through DAEMON Tools Lite (it replaces the cd)

step 3 - installed DOSbos 0.74, re-enable the graphic card, reboot pc

step 4 - run DOSbox, make sure the CD drive is mounted (through DAEMON),

type in (well, whatever your cd drive is)

" mount g g:/ -t cdrom " enter
" mount c c:/war2 " enter (this has to be the drive where you installed the game)
" c:/war2 " enter
"war2 " enter

and then for full screen : hit Atl + Enter = then you got your Warcraft II running under Windows 7 without too much fuzz, without installing a virtual machine.

Hope it helps.
Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2013, 14:00   #22  -   
RitTheMonkey
Demo Racer
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1
RitTheMonkey's online stats
http://www.server.war2.ru

There's actually a pvpgn server for Warcraft II still thriving today at http://www.server.war2.ru. You can also download the game for free there and I'm pretty sure it's windows 7 compatible.
Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2013, 17:27   #23  -   
Shotglass
S2 licensed
 
Shotglass's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 9,947
Shotglass's online stats
downlods from a .ru address... sounds legit
__________________
I think we as a species would be a lot mentally healthier if we stopped taking comfort in delusions and learned to accept the transitive nature of our existence. That's why I spend my Sunday evenings in an airtight box with a poison gas capsule set up to release on the decay of a single radioactive atom.
Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2013, 05:36   #24  -   
dawesdust_12
S2 licensed
 
dawesdust_12's Avatar
 
Racername: UKCT..Dustin
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Nanaimo, BC
Posts: 11,805
dawesdust_12's online stats
I only install software from .ru addresses. Same as I only download movies from host names that end with fbi.gov or mpaa.com
__________________
I love scotch. :) :D
I'm Bender, yes I'm the real Bender All you other Benders are just imitating So won't The Real Bender please stand up Please stand up, please stand up?

Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2013, 06:30   #25  -   
Shotglass
S2 licensed
 
Shotglass's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 9,947
Shotglass's online stats
you say that like you expect me to be surprised in spite of your track record of horrible computing decisions
__________________
I think we as a species would be a lot mentally healthier if we stopped taking comfort in delusions and learned to accept the transitive nature of our existence. That's why I spend my Sunday evenings in an airtight box with a poison gas capsule set up to release on the decay of a single radioactive atom.
Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2013, 06:53   #26  -   
dawesdust_12
S2 licensed
 
dawesdust_12's Avatar
 
Racername: UKCT..Dustin
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Nanaimo, BC
Posts: 11,805
dawesdust_12's online stats
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shotglass View Post
you say that like you expect me to be surprised in spite of your track record of horrible computing decisions
A horrible computing decision would be to use Windows full time.
__________________
I love scotch. :) :D
I'm Bender, yes I'm the real Bender All you other Benders are just imitating So won't The Real Bender please stand up Please stand up, please stand up?


Last edited by dawesdust_12; 5th January 2013 at 06:59.
Reply With Quote
Reply

  Live for Speed > Other > Off Topic

  • Submit Thread to Digg
  • Submit Thread to del.icio.us
  • Submit Thread to StumbleUpon
  • Submit Thread to Google

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Live for Speed © 2002-2014 - Scawen Roberts, Eric Bailey, Victor van Vlaardingen