Live for Speed - LFS Main Site
- LFS World
- LFS News
- LFS Manual
- LFS Merchandise
  http://www.lfsproseries.net/

Go Back   Live for Speed > Other > Hardware > Wheels and controllers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10th August 2008, 09:12   #1  -   
mariokart
S2 licensed
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 7
mariokart's online stats
Logitech Driving Force GT

I have recently acquired a Logitech Driving Force GT, and have searched quite a lot for suitable information for it. Essentially, I would like to find out if there is a way to utilize the 'extra' features - mostly, the 'dial' supposedly meant for brake bias.

In personal experience, I installed the latest Logitech Profiler, and it detects the Driving Force GT as a DFP (Driving Force Pro)

To assist others, here is some interesting information about this wheel:

Quote:

Hi.

My name's Chris, and I work for Logitech. I'm the product manager for both the Driving Force GT and the G25, as well as the G-series keyboards and some other stuff. I'm the guy in the YouTube video explaining how the DFGT's new realtime adjustment dial feature works. Now that GDC is over and the wheel is actually announced, I'll try and answer some of the questions I've seen about it.

The Driving Force GT (DFGT) is a direct replacement for the Driving Force Pro. It is not intended to address the same customer as the G25.

The pedals base has the same external design, but the internals were modified slightly to improve reliability and precision. Much like the G25 pedals, the DFGT's are set up with two parts - the pedal arm turns a gear that is affixed over the potentiometer shaft rather than turning the pot directly. This means that excessive force (and the subsequent deformation of the plastic) on the pedals can no longer cause the potentiometer to move out of tolerance and produce erratic values. The performance of the DFGT's pedals should be significantly improved over the Driving Force Pro's.

The force feedback transmission is a double-reduction, single-motor system. The gear ratio has been modified such that it is much smoother and quieter than the DFP's. It also features a backlash-reduction main gear similar to the system used in the G25. It does not generate the same amount of torque that the G25 does, as it only has one motor, but it does deliver the same amount of torque as the DFP.

I'll pop in and answer further questions as I can during the week. It's been quite hectic leading up to the announcement, and I think it will only calm down a little now. Hopefully I can get some pics up of the internals as well.
(Above from http://www.lfsforum.net/showthread.php?t=39269)

Logitech site: http://www.logitech.com/index.cfm/ga.../4172&cl=us,en

In terms of setting this wheel up, I am probably going to try the DFP settings (haven't tried yet):
Quote:
Quote:
Originally Posted by AJS
I got my new wheel today

From the old forum (Scawen) :

Driving Force Pro Settings :

Spring Effect Strength : 0 %

Damper Effect Strength : 0 %

Center Springt Strength : 0 %

LFS Settings :

Wheel turn : 900 °

Wheel turn compensation : 0.00 (Otherwise you won´t even get full 900 °)
Above from http://www.lfsforum.net/showthread.php?t=198

First impressions though - this wheel is cool...
Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2008, 11:27   #2  -   
mariokart
S2 licensed
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 7
mariokart's online stats
Videos of Driving Force GT

This one from insidesim:
http://insidesimracing.tv/index.php?...125&Itemid=184

This one is a little less detailed and is meant for PS3, but it does show the speed of the motors and the cool centre light:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7nPu4_rRLTc
Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2008, 13:50   #3  -   
geeman1
S2 licensed
 
geeman1's Avatar
 
Racername: tuoppi
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Finland
Posts: 2,067
geeman1's online stats
Quote:
Originally Posted by mariokart View Post
I have recently acquired a Logitech Driving Force GT, and have searched quite a lot for suitable information for it. Essentially, I would like to find out if there is a way to utilize the 'extra' features - mostly, the 'dial' supposedly meant for brake bias.
You could set up some macros for the buttons with the Logitech profiler. No idea about the dial though. Depends on how it works. Does it send a analog signal or does it send "clicks" as it apparently has steps? On the latter case it should be doable to use it for brake balance macros.
Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2011, 20:02   #4  -   
Osara Team 1
S2 licensed
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5
Osara Team 1's online stats
Hi,

I have Logitech Driving Force gt and LFS.
I have tried it and it works, but no force.
Do u know how i can add force to my wheel/LFS?
Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2011, 20:08   #5  -   
Silverracer
S2 licensed
 
Silverracer's Avatar
 
Racername: Silver
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Colombo
Posts: 1,906
Silverracer's online stats
Hi there, quick question - in LFS' Options > Controls > Axes / FF, is the "Force Feedback" set to "yes"?

If so, is the "Force Strength" (same screen in Options > Controls) set to value higher than "0"?

(FYI, if FF is set to "yes" you can adjust the value using the keys "," and ".".

If the above above isn't working let us know - and we'll see what else might be wrong...
Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2011, 10:51   #6  -   
mariu97
S2 licensed
 
mariu97's Avatar
 
Racername: Stigy
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Romania
Posts: 25
mariu97's online stats
I have a question about force strength (I have a DFGT too).First i set it to 52, now i have it at 35.I'm comfortable with 35, so I should keep it like this?

Thank you for response!
Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2011, 17:08   #7  -   
ACCAkut
S2 licensed
 
ACCAkut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Sea Coast
Posts: 3,930
ACCAkut's online stats
well, just keep it at a level thats comfortable for you. But set to 101% in the Logitech profiler, otherwise the Force Feedback is said to not act linear.

Or look here: LFS Manual
Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2011, 10:30   #8  -   
waynedru78
S2 licensed
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 9
waynedru78's online stats
Hi im about too buy 1 of these wheels as they have been out for a while is there any common problems or glitches any relevent drivers needed with ps3 version or pc version just trying too get a feel for it before it arrives so i know how too get around issues.
After having a nightmare with my thrustmaster rgt pro ie paddles broken, and then catching alight when racing in lfs (yes alight ) im now going too try logitech i heard good reviews for this wheel what does the real world think?
Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2011, 10:53   #9  -   
Silverracer
S2 licensed
 
Silverracer's Avatar
 
Racername: Silver
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Colombo
Posts: 1,906
Silverracer's online stats
Hi!

Quote:
Originally Posted by waynedru78 View Post
[...]and then catching alight when racing in lfs
Thats taking realism to a whole new level!

You can download the drivers from here (choose your operating system): http://www.logitech.com/en-gb/441/41...tion=downloads

I can't comment on the wheel itself as I've never owned one. However, I down a Logitech Momo and G25/G27 and can only praise Logitech's customer support.
Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2012, 11:44   #10  -   
slamza.
S2 licensed
 
slamza.'s Avatar
 
Racername: X
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Paris
Posts: 42
slamza.'s online stats
ok
__________________
slamza. & G.Dierckx
WS Founders
www.windstyle.eu


Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2012, 16:53   #11  -   
superstix
S2 licensed
 
superstix's Avatar
 
Racername: [TC]>Josh<
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 185
superstix's online stats
Quote:
Originally Posted by mariokart View Post
In personal experience, I installed the latest Logitech Profiler, and it detects the Driving Force GT as a DFP (Driving Force Pro)
For anyone experiencing this problem, update the wheel drivers and the software.
__________________
Policeblue999
Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2012, 14:28   #12  -   
speeddemon6
S2 licensed
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 53
speeddemon6's online stats
Hi, I know this is a bit of a delay, but I would advise getting the DFGT as a starter wheel I've had mine for six months, and I've had no problems with it - I just wish I got the G27 now. XD Although, I do plan on making my own H-shifter and clutch at some time. ^_^
Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2012, 04:34   #13  -   
KingKwentyne
S2 licensed
 
Racername: KingKwentyne
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Dirty South
Posts: 4
KingKwentyne's online stats
Hey everyone been reading through this thread and I am new to lfs. I have a quick question. How do I get full 900 degrees of rotation on the wheel. I am used to it from gt5. i tried what some have suggested here and turned the in game wheel setting to 900 and 0 on compensation and still nothing. thanks for the help in advance.
Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2012, 05:16   #14  -   
ACCAkut
S2 licensed
 
ACCAkut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Sea Coast
Posts: 3,930
ACCAkut's online stats
get the Logitech Profiler Software and change the settings in its menus
Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2012, 06:31   #15  -   
KingKwentyne
S2 licensed
 
Racername: KingKwentyne
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Dirty South
Posts: 4
KingKwentyne's online stats
Quote:
Originally Posted by ACCAkut View Post
get the Logitech Profiler Software and change the settings in its menus
I got the profiler and adjusted the settings to 900 degrees already and it still isnt 900degrees in game
Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2012, 08:34   #16  -   
Silverracer
S2 licensed
 
Silverracer's Avatar
 
Racername: Silver
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Colombo
Posts: 1,906
Silverracer's online stats
Quote:
Originally Posted by KingKwentyne View Post
I got the profiler and adjusted the settings to 900 degrees already and it still isnt 900degrees in game
Hi, there are two places in the profiler to set maximum rotation. Make sure that both are set to 900. I cant recall the exact places, but one should be under specific game settings and the other under global game settings (or something that sounds like that).
Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2012, 12:41   #17  -   
Omar1
S2 licensed
 
Omar1's Avatar
 
Racername: Subw00fer
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: England
Posts: 896
Omar1's online stats
Wink

This is how i've assigned my buttons. If i rotate my dial anti-clockwise, i get the tyre information up, if i rotate it clockwise, i get the wheel damage.. etcetc, i have indicators assigned to the 'R2' and 'L2' buttons and many others.

__________________
Logitech G25 - Sold
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scawen View Post
0.6C will be a good release, while we continue with the physics updates and S3 content.
Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2012, 19:11   #18  -   
CodeLyoko1
S2 licensed
 
CodeLyoko1's Avatar
 
Racername: TCLF
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: MyComputer
Posts: 1,537
CodeLyoko1's online stats
for me everything works perfect
__________________
[[E]SOM][TV]

When every second matters
Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2012, 01:53   #19  -   
frotto110
Demo Racer
 
Racername: Frotto
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: America
Posts: 329
frotto110's online stats
great wheel, but just a bit noisy and slow force feedback
Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2012, 06:50   #20  -   
CodeLyoko1
S2 licensed
 
CodeLyoko1's Avatar
 
Racername: TCLF
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: MyComputer
Posts: 1,537
CodeLyoko1's online stats
Quote:
Originally Posted by frotto110 View Post
great wheel, but just a bit noisy and slow force feedback
you got it on full power?
__________________
[[E]SOM][TV]

When every second matters
Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2012, 12:39   #21  -   
frotto110
Demo Racer
 
Racername: Frotto
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: America
Posts: 329
frotto110's online stats
Quote:
Originally Posted by CodeLyoko1 View Post
you got it on full power?
No, I have G27. Just tried it in local store.
Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2012, 13:20   #22  -   
CodeLyoko1
S2 licensed
 
CodeLyoko1's Avatar
 
Racername: TCLF
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: MyComputer
Posts: 1,537
CodeLyoko1's online stats
Quote:
Originally Posted by frotto110 View Post
No, I have G27. Just tried it in local store.
ah that explains
__________________
[[E]SOM][TV]

When every second matters
Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2012, 21:45   #23  -   
speeddemon6
S2 licensed
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 53
speeddemon6's online stats
The only reason that it had 'slow FFB' is because it's worn out. When you try an out-of-the-box one (ie. purchased, removed it from it's packaging, and tried to use it immediately), it's a lot more responsive.
Reply With Quote
Reply

  Live for Speed > Other > Hardware > Wheels and controllers

  • Submit Thread to Digg
  • Submit Thread to del.icio.us
  • Submit Thread to StumbleUpon
  • Submit Thread to Google

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Live for Speed © 2002-2014 - Scawen Roberts, Eric Bailey, Victor van Vlaardingen