Live for Speed - LFS Main Site
- LFS World
- LFS News
- LFS Manual
- LFS Merchandise
  http://liveforspeed.at/

Go Back   Live for Speed > Main > Improvement Suggestions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 2nd July 2008, 18:17   #1  -   
Stuffi
S2 licensed
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16
Stuffi's online stats
"Please upload your skin at www.lfsworld.net"

Hi, since last patch I always get this message in the chat "Please upload your skin at www.lfsworld.net"!

Well, I'm a freaking demo-racer, I CAN'T UPLOAD MY SKIN!!!!

This should be removed or you give us demo-racers the rights to upload our skins!

I don't need to upload my skin nor do I want to get this message, it annoys me!
Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2008, 18:52   #2  -   
MAGGOT
S2 licensed
 
MAGGOT's Avatar
 
Racername: [T1R]|MAGGOT
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,808
MAGGOT's online stats
You can, since the last patch.
__________________
RWD-Design
Master Skinnerz
Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2008, 18:54   #3  -   
BlakjeKaas
S2 licensed
 
BlakjeKaas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,906
BlakjeKaas's online stats
Quote:
Originally Posted by MAGGOT View Post
You can, since the last patch.
You can't, since always.
__________________
Generation 21: Community experiment. The first time you see this take the generation # and add 1. Put in your signature.
Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2008, 19:43   #4  -   
MAGGOT
S2 licensed
 
MAGGOT's Avatar
 
Racername: [T1R]|MAGGOT
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,808
MAGGOT's online stats
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlakjeKaas View Post
You can't, since always.

I seem to recall the demo users were now granted auto skin downloading with Patch Y? Or was it only a one-way thing (can download others', but not upload their own), or am I just drunk again?
__________________
RWD-Design
Master Skinnerz
Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2008, 20:00   #5  -   
dougie-lampkin
S2 licensed
 
dougie-lampkin's Avatar
 
Racername: [SG] Rob
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Stab City, Ireland
Posts: 4,266
dougie-lampkin's online stats
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scawen in Patch Z thread
Licensed demo racers system :

Demo racers now need a user name and GAME password to go online
Unified List of Hosts - S2 users can all Demo / S1 / S2 hosts
Demo / S1 racers can see all hosts running Demo / S1 content
Demo racers now automatically download skins but not upload
Means if a S1/S2 user enters a demo server (even though technically there aren't any "demo servers" any more, but I'm using it as an example...), the demo users will auto-download the S1/S2 skins. So he shouldn't be getting the message
__________________
Intel Q6600 @ 3.0Ghz (BSODs at 3.1Ghz...) | 4x Corsair TwinX 800Mhz PC6400 1024MB | MSI N9800GTX-T2D512-OC | Gigabyte GA-EP35-DS3 | Corsair VX550W | ThermalTake Soprano
Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2008, 20:10   #6  -   
MAGGOT
S2 licensed
 
MAGGOT's Avatar
 
Racername: [T1R]|MAGGOT
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,808
MAGGOT's online stats
Hmm... seems I'm just drunk again then. Being at work right now, that's probably not a good thing...
__________________
RWD-Design
Master Skinnerz
Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2008, 08:19   #7  -   
Stuffi
S2 licensed
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16
Stuffi's online stats
Well I tried logging in on lfsworld.net and clicked on "my car skins" or what it's called and it said that I need to be S1 or S2, sadly!

And, what do you mean with
Quote:
even though technically there aren't any "demo servers" any more
I mean I can see, that there are much lesser servers, where I can particitpate, but 2 servers were still up and I was able to join them!

I like a lot of improvements with this patch, mostly the new replay-features, but this message keeps annoying me and it distracts me while driving!
Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2008, 08:21   #8  -   
morpha
S2 licensed
 
morpha's Avatar
 
Racername: 42D×morpha
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Austria
Posts: 2,172
morpha's online stats
Well there are two simple solutions:
  1. Get S1/S2 or
  2. Don't use a custom skin
Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2008, 08:24   #9  -   
Bean0
S2 licensed
 
Bean0's Avatar
 
Racername: CR|S.Baker
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Newcastle, UK
Posts: 5,294
Bean0's online stats
Quote:
Originally Posted by morpha View Post
Well there are two simple solutions:
  1. Get S1/S2 or
  2. Don't use a custom skin
Or..

Use a skin already on LFSW
Ask a S1/S2 licensed friend with spare skin slots to upload.
__________________
http://www.Bean0.com

+++ Divide By Cucumber Error. Please Reinstall Universe And Reboot +++
Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2008, 10:23   #10  -   
Dajmin
S2 licensed
 
Dajmin's Avatar
 
Racername: Dajmin
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 5,134
Dajmin's online stats
Or rename the custom skin to the same as a default skin (or a random uploaded skin).

Then when LFS checks the database it'll find a skin with that name and won't prompt for an upload. Other racers will download the wrong one, but that's not a big deal.
__________________
DAJMIN
S2 LICENSED : June 06
UK Rock Band Albany Down: Albany Down | London Session Vocalist: Paul Muir
Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2008, 10:48   #11  -   
dougie-lampkin
S2 licensed
 
dougie-lampkin's Avatar
 
Racername: [SG] Rob
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Stab City, Ireland
Posts: 4,266
dougie-lampkin's online stats
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stuffi View Post
And, what do you mean with
I mean I can see, that there are much lesser servers, where I can particitpate, but 2 servers were still up and I was able to join them!
Before Patch Z, in the multiplayer menu, there were 3 options for Demo, S1, or S2 servers. We could join them all, but when clicking one, we couldn't see the other server types. In Patch Z however, there's only one list. Instead of having demo or S1 specific servers, they are just S2 hosts running demo or S1 content.

EG, if I set up a S2 server on BL1, using the XFG, you'd be able to join it. But if I switched the track to south city, or allowed non-demo cars, you'd be kicked, as it's no longer demo-only content.

It's supposed to stop segregation of demoers, but I don't think it'll work...
__________________
Intel Q6600 @ 3.0Ghz (BSODs at 3.1Ghz...) | 4x Corsair TwinX 800Mhz PC6400 1024MB | MSI N9800GTX-T2D512-OC | Gigabyte GA-EP35-DS3 | Corsair VX550W | ThermalTake Soprano
Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2008, 16:35   #12  -   
Stuffi
S2 licensed
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16
Stuffi's online stats
Quote:
Originally Posted by morpha View Post
Well there are two simple solutions:
  1. Get S1/S2 or
  2. Don't use a custom skin
Yeah sure, "if people don't buy our game, we go on there nerves and don't let them use their custom skins without getting annoyed!"
Well I don't think, that this is the way the developers think about it!
Quote:
Originally Posted by dougie-lampkin View Post
Before Patch Z, in the multiplayer menu, there were 3 options for Demo, S1, or S2 servers.
Ah ok I now know what you mean
Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2008, 16:37   #13  -   
JJ72
S2 licensed
 
JJ72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 5,406
JJ72's online stats
but well maybe some might want to know whether their skin is online and if they are running naked. cos sometimes even if you are using a public skin it might not be uploaded.
Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2008, 16:41   #14  -   
dougie-lampkin
S2 licensed
 
dougie-lampkin's Avatar
 
Racername: [SG] Rob
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Stab City, Ireland
Posts: 4,266
dougie-lampkin's online stats
Yea, but it should just be disabled for demo users, as they can't upload skins
__________________
Intel Q6600 @ 3.0Ghz (BSODs at 3.1Ghz...) | 4x Corsair TwinX 800Mhz PC6400 1024MB | MSI N9800GTX-T2D512-OC | Gigabyte GA-EP35-DS3 | Corsair VX550W | ThermalTake Soprano
Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2008, 16:46   #15  -   
Bean0
S2 licensed
 
Bean0's Avatar
 
Racername: CR|S.Baker
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Newcastle, UK
Posts: 5,294
Bean0's online stats
Quote:
Originally Posted by dougie-lampkin View Post
Yea, but it should just be disabled for demo users, as they can't upload skins
But the defaults and a lot of public skins are uploaded. Some demo racers might not want to look naked, and would prefer to know if the skin they have chosen is not being seen by others.

It also demonstrates the feature that is unavailable to them, something a demo user who doesn't use the forums might not know about.
__________________
http://www.Bean0.com

+++ Divide By Cucumber Error. Please Reinstall Universe And Reboot +++
Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2008, 16:53   #16  -   
Jordan2007
No longer welcome
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stuffi View Post
Hi, since last patch I always get this message in the chat "Please upload your skin at www.lfsworld.net"!

Well, I'm a freaking demo-racer, I CAN'T UPLOAD MY SKIN!!!!

This should be removed or you give us demo-racers the rights to upload our skins!

I don't need to upload my skin nor do I want to get this message, it annoys me!
Must of been... 20 times iv said this...

DEMO = DEMONSTRATION

buy s2 and have the rights of freedom on LFS!
Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2008, 10:53   #17  -   
Stuffi
S2 licensed
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16
Stuffi's online stats
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bean0 View Post
But the defaults and a lot of public skins are uploaded. Some demo racers might not want to look naked, and would prefer to know if the skin they have chosen is not being seen by others.

It also demonstrates the feature that is unavailable to them, something a demo user who doesn't use the forums might not know about.
Yeah, but one or two advices would be enough and without sound, if you ask me!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jordan2007 View Post
DEMO = DEMONSTRATION
What a wise man you are, if you can't read you'd better look for another thread.
My improvement suggestion was about improving the demo and not about improving the game! And why should they implement a message which politetly invites someone to do something what he can't do!

Annoying messages for demousers isn't a good advertising for a full version!

And even then it would be cleverer to pop the message "Plz get s1 or s2 to upload your customs skins" and not to confuse demousers, because they think, that they might be able upload their skins!

The other thing is, that demos normaly are available before the fullversion. So lets make an example, a Gta 100 demo, where you only can visit town 1 of 4! If there would pop up a message every 2 minutes which would tell you, "Visit town 2, 3 and 4 to get better weapons", would that make sense?

Well whatever, the only thing I wanted or asked was, if it is possible to remove this message because I think a lot of demo-users are anoyed and maybe have other reasons not to buy s1 or s2! Would be great

thanks
Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2008, 11:20   #18  -   
BlakjeKaas
S2 licensed
 
BlakjeKaas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,906
BlakjeKaas's online stats
I think that that only happens with a skin which isn't uploaded, if you rename it to a skin which IS uploaded or just as default skin (as said above) you'll probably don't get that message.
__________________
Generation 21: Community experiment. The first time you see this take the generation # and add 1. Put in your signature.
Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2008, 12:30   #19  -   
Bob Smith
Moderator
 
Bob Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Sheffield, UK
Posts: 11,230
Bob Smith's online stats
I'm in full agreement with the OP. The error message is from a time before demo racers could download skins in-game, so demo users should get a different failure message to reflect their abilities.

In general, having the message pop up more than once is irritating, regardless of whether you are licenced or not.
__________________
Vehicle Handling and Performance Analyser - In depth setup analysis for LFS and real world vehicles
Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2008, 12:35   #20  -   
Bean0
S2 licensed
 
Bean0's Avatar
 
Racername: CR|S.Baker
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Newcastle, UK
Posts: 5,294
Bean0's online stats
I haven't seen the message recently, but it must have changed.

Didn't it used to be 'Your Skin has not been found on LFSWorld', which would apply to all users ?
__________________
http://www.Bean0.com

+++ Divide By Cucumber Error. Please Reinstall Universe And Reboot +++
Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2008, 16:05   #21  -   
Stuffi
S2 licensed
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16
Stuffi's online stats
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bean0 View Post
I haven't seen the message recently, but it must have changed.

Didn't it used to be 'Your Skin has not been found on LFSWorld', which would apply to all users ?
Yeah something like that, I'm to lazy to change my language ingame to check whats the english message, but in german it says I should upload the skin at lfsworld.net!

@Bob Smith
ah thats interesting, I didn't know that this existed before the last patch, but now you said it, so it makes sense to me!

well lets see if something changes with the next patch but maybe I have S1 or S2 until then, don't know, there is a lot of stuff I need the money for in the next few months! we'll see!
Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2010, 16:08   #22  -   
mr-teppo
Demo Racer
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2
mr-teppo's online stats
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bean0 View Post
Or..

Use a skin already on LFSW
Ask a S1/S2 licensed friend with spare skin slots to upload.
this is ktm skins
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	XRG_ktm.jpg
Views:	141
Size:	86.9 KB
ID:	100289  
Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2010, 16:26   #23  -   
speed1230
S2 licensed
 
speed1230's Avatar
 
Racername: ReplicaSkinCollecter
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,271
speed1230's online stats
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr-teppo View Post
this is ktm skins
Useless bump just to advertise your skin
http://www.lfsforum.net/showthread.p...35#post1362535
Also he's S2 licenced now so I doubt he'll get this problem anyway
Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2010, 17:56   #24  -   
hazaky
S2 licensed
 
hazaky's Avatar
 
Racername: Hazaky
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 3,584
hazaky's online stats
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr-teppo View Post
this is ktm skins
Buy S2, upload skinds, nobody does it for u? Deal with it.

Btw, holy mother of a sweet bump.
__________________
hazaky.eu
Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2010, 05:17   #25  -   
UnknownMaster21
S2 licensed
 
UnknownMaster21's Avatar
 
Racername: UM21
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: default
Posts: 2,404
UnknownMaster21's online stats
Quote:
Originally Posted by hazaky View Post
Buy S2, upload skinds, nobody does it for u? Deal with it.

Btw, holy mother of a sweet bump.

Anyway, just a suggestion by him
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by S.E.T.H View Post
ban the F mode on all of the servers for just 1 day and see whole timeboards are dropping.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Worm View Post
Personnaly, I drive in F-Force mode. Its easier and faster.
But since the new patch i use SHIFT+U and the helicopter view and its ...
Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2011, 21:39   #26  -   
kiko_acevedo
Demo Racer
 
Racername: kikoacevedo
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1
kiko_acevedo's online stats
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by MAGGOT View Post
You can, since the last patch.
locooo
Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2012, 13:30   #27  -   
luca011
S2 licensed
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
luca011's online stats
skin

I must upload my police skin... i cant dirve xD

and my police skin is

: FXO_TCPOLICE !
Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2012, 13:35   #28  -   
Flame CZE
Moderator
 
Flame CZE's Avatar
 
Racername: S M.Kapal
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,639
Flame CZE's online stats
Quote:
Originally Posted by luca011 View Post
I must upload my police skin... i cant dirve xD

and my police skin is

: FXO_TCPOLICE !
What is your problem then? You cannot upload your skin?
Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2013, 07:48   #29  -   
luca011
S2 licensed
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
luca011's online stats
moin
habe mal ne frage, wie kann ich hier jetzt einen skin hochladen ?
Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2013, 08:57   #30  -   
Keling
S2 licensed
 
Keling's Avatar
 
Racername: Keling Lan
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 838
Keling's online stats
Well, this is an English forum, and that was a bump...

Go to LFSWorld.net and click on "My On-line Car Skins".
Reply With Quote
Reply

  Live for Speed > Main > Improvement Suggestions

  • Submit Thread to Digg
  • Submit Thread to del.icio.us
  • Submit Thread to StumbleUpon
  • Submit Thread to Google

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:21.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Live for Speed © 2002-2014 - Scawen Roberts, Eric Bailey, Victor van Vlaardingen