Live for Speed - LFS Main Site
- LFS World
- LFS News
- LFS Manual
- LFS Merchandise
  http://www.liveforspeed.be/

Go Back   Live for Speed > Main > Technical Assistance

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 5th January 2007, 21:54   #1  -   
PMD9409
S2 licensed
 
PMD9409's Avatar
 
Racername: ineX P.Diaz
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Florida, U.S.
Posts: 6,910
PMD9409's online stats
LFS on PS3?

Since Linux can be installed onto a PS3. Can i put LFS on it? And if it would, would it help the graphics?
Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2007, 21:55   #2  -   
amp88
S2 licensed
 
Racername: [DSR] amp88
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 4,740
amp88's online stats
No (answers don't get much more succinct than that).
Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2007, 21:55   #3  -   
XCNuse
Moderator
 
XCNuse's Avatar
 
Racername: XCNuse
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Atlanta ,GA
Posts: 8,090
XCNuse's online stats
it would be worse; LFS is mainly dependant on the CPU, and since platforms have really bad CPUs, but good graphics card... you'd get like 10 fps

plus, why would the graphics change...?
__________________

Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2007, 21:56   #4  -   
tristancliffe
S2 licensed
 
tristancliffe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Norwich
Posts: 15,922
tristancliffe's online stats
It won't help the graphics, although running it on a TV might give it a slightly different look - a TV can actually make Gran Turismo look half decent!
__________________
F3, LFS, nKPro, rF, GTR2, CARS & GT5 Licenced
Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2007, 21:56   #5  -   
joen
S2 licensed
 
Racername: Jeroen
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,839
joen's online stats
Quote:
Originally Posted by PMD9409 View Post
Since Linux can be installed onto a PS3. Can i put LFS on it?
Probably not.

Quote:
And if it would, would it help the graphics?
No, why would it? A PS3 will not just simply add stuff to it by itself.
__________________
Jeroen - member of the W.G.L.F.S.I.H.A.M.R.N. club
Quote:
Originally Posted by Niku View Post
y PATCH IS SUCK WHERE IS XRT THIS IS REALLY SUCK I WANT DEMOS CARS FOIR S1

Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2007, 22:03   #6  -   
dizzlez
S2 licensed
 
dizzlez's Avatar
 
Racername: [dF]JosH.
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 357
dizzlez's online stats
May sound odd but my computer screen is a plasma tv with sky rofl xD

took 1 week to get use to it haha
Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2007, 22:14   #7  -   
imthebestracerthereis
S2 licensed
 
imthebestracerthereis's Avatar
 
Racername: itbrti Dustin Wheel: G27
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Queensland
Posts: 3,600
imthebestracerthereis's online stats
http://www.technologynewsdaily.com/node/4877 yes you can put linux on a ps3, i dont know about quality b/c I dont have a ps3 or that much money
__________________
Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2007, 22:20   #8  -   
amp88
S2 licensed
 
Racername: [DSR] amp88
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 4,740
amp88's online stats
Yes, you can put Linux on a PS3 but LFS is written for x86 hardware (which Cell most certainly is not a derivative of) so it's not going to run.
Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2007, 22:27   #9  -   
glyphon
S2 licensed
 
glyphon's Avatar
 
Racername: curbRash
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 527
glyphon's online stats
Quote:
Originally Posted by XCNuse View Post
it would be worse; LFS is mainly dependant on the CPU, and since platforms have really bad CPUs, but good graphics card... you'd get like 10 fps

plus, why would the graphics change...?
actually, the PS3 and the 360 both have very good processors.

still, i doubt running it on the ps3 would do what the OP whats it to do...the Cell is a RISC system, where as the Intel/AMD chips are CISC. In order to run software that is compiled for one cpu architecture on a different type of cpu, the software has to run through a software emulator that translates the programming of the software into something that the CPU can do somethign with.

and this is a very slow process...and this is why emulating a PC on a mac is such a slow process (not including the intelmacs). If you are lucky, you get ~ 1/12th the speed of the processor.

the cell runs at 3.2ghz, which would correspond to ~266mhz after the performance hit...no where close to fast enough to run LFS.

the xbox processor is a triple core PPC (risc) processor with each core also running at 3.2ghz. but since it would require emulation also, the 360 would take the same performance hit down to ~266mhz. and since LFS doesn't support multiple cpus, it would just run on a single cpu.
Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2007, 22:28   #10  -   
Dennisjr13
S2 licensed
 
Dennisjr13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 452
Dennisjr13's online stats
The PS3 isn't a computer cpu so the game probably won't run.
__________________
"If you can make black marks on a straight from the time you turn out of a corner until the braking point of the next turn, then you have enough horsepower." - Mark Donohue
Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2007, 22:43   #11  -   
MadCatX
S2 licensed
 
Racername: M4DC4T
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Prague (Praha)
Posts: 3,036
MadCatX's online stats
Another solution would be recompiling LFS EXE file to Cell RISC architecture, but I am afraid that Scawen will not give you the source. And you would have to use an emulator anyway, something like Wine or better Cedega to "forward" LFS's requests on Windows/DX API to Linux(OpenGL + ALSA + ...) API's.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marin2
Quote:
It is!!! I know a guy who installed a speedometer from chinese scooter on his WRX and after that he couldn't go faster than 100km/h!
Well, well...now it looks that there is something in the mistery of speedoo unblocking:-)
Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2007, 02:47   #12  -   
PMD9409
S2 licensed
 
PMD9409's Avatar
 
Racername: ineX P.Diaz
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Florida, U.S.
Posts: 6,910
PMD9409's online stats
I wasn't actually planning on doing it since my computer already runs lfs well. I just had a weird thought about it the other day and wondered if it would work. But since it won't or/and won't do any good, the thought will now be thrown out of my mind.
Thanks anyways
Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2007, 04:51   #13  -   
Paul1992
S2 licensed
 
Paul1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 9
Paul1992's online stats
Well SInce I have a ps3 im sad becuz I wish it would play lfs cuz it would probly be better fps then my pile of junk called a computer sometimes i feel like hitting it with a hammer and running it over wit my moms 4x4 LR3 then throwing it off a cliff into the ocean so no body will have to look at its ugly self
__________________
Drift ya lata Rememba K33p !t S!D3W@Y$
Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2007, 16:51   #14  -   
tenwierdufos
S2 licensed
 
tenwierdufos's Avatar
 
Racername: UKCT..Nick!
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Ashbourne, Derby's
Posts: 42
tenwierdufos's online stats
Exclamation Ps3

The PS3 can run Linux, and it also have a very powerfull CPU, but....

and this is a big but...

it is based around a completely different architecture. Its like trying to run LFS on a haddock from a chippy, they just arnt going to fit together.

P.s.
Please dont try LFS on a haddock, im sure it wont be very pleased with you.
__________________
UKCT..Nick! : ukct.net.
[ctra]tenwierdufos[/ctra]
Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2007, 18:27   #15  -   
col
S2 licensed
 
col's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 708
col's online stats
I dunno about a haddock, but you should be able to get it running on a black pudding supper - as long as you use plenty of salt and sauce and keep a bottle or IRN BRU handy for cooling...

(watch out for pickled eggs though - I've heard they can cause stuttering)
Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2007, 20:57   #16  -   
tenwierdufos
S2 licensed
 
tenwierdufos's Avatar
 
Racername: UKCT..Nick!
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Ashbourne, Derby's
Posts: 42
tenwierdufos's online stats
Smile

Wouldnt want that
__________________
UKCT..Nick! : ukct.net.
[ctra]tenwierdufos[/ctra]
Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2007, 20:59   #17  -   
spankmeyer
S2 licensed
 
spankmeyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 3,079
spankmeyer's online stats
Maybe if we had monocycles instead of four wheeled cars, the PS3/360 could keep up with the physics math.
__________________
www.mikkohenrikhuotari.fi
Flickr: miggohoo
Steam: spankmeyer
Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2007, 09:18   #18  -   
Dani King
S2 licensed
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 37
Dani King's online stats
LFS is already running in my PS3... well, it's not
Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2007, 13:36   #19  -   
unseen
S2 licensed
 
unseen's Avatar
 
Racername: xunseenx
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Scotland
Posts: 1,169
unseen's online stats
ok, maybe forgetting the graphical, playable client... I`m a sad enough bastard to ask if anyone`s tried running the dedicated server on a PS3 yet?, seeing as it can connect to that intremenet thingummy. Maybe on a gentoo custom install, through wine or cedega...
Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2007, 15:57   #20  -   
col
S2 licensed
 
col's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 708
col's online stats
Quote:
Originally Posted by unseen View Post
ok, maybe forgetting the graphical, playable client... I`m a sad enough bastard to ask if anyone`s tried running the dedicated server on a PS3 yet?, seeing as it can connect to that intremenet thingummy. Maybe on a gentoo custom install, through wine or cedega...
It would still need to be tweaked and recompiled by Scawen for the cell architecture. So I very much doubt it will ever happen...
Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2007, 23:01   #21  -   
tenwierdufos
S2 licensed
 
tenwierdufos's Avatar
 
Racername: UKCT..Nick!
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Ashbourne, Derby's
Posts: 42
tenwierdufos's online stats
Cool Server

Im not sure if this will be made available for the PS3 to host on but the PS2 has had a history of been used as servers for various things, basically because with the PS2 you can just chuck a big IDE hard drive on the back of the network adaptor, and there you have it, install linux on it, run ftp servers, webserver etc, and its about 60w of power.

The main problem is finding a server program which will work on the operating system, because things like mail, ftp, webservers etc all are so commonly used its worth people spending time developing these peices of software.

But with LFS, alot of people play but it would not be worth the develepors time converting all of their software for the playstation, mainly because you will want to use your console for other things, but also how many people would have a serious host on a playstation???

Is a much more reliable and better idea to rent a server, you can fit alot more people in than your home connection could ever handle, plus, your free to play with your new ps3 as much as you want without cutting all your players off!!
__________________
UKCT..Nick! : ukct.net.
[ctra]tenwierdufos[/ctra]
Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2007, 23:31   #22  -   
Dani King
S2 licensed
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 37
Dani King's online stats
I wish I had a realistic Online Sim in PS3, then I would trash this computer because of the incompability issues

I bet my PS3 won't never ever give me stuttering or FPS drops like this pc is doing
Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2007, 01:51   #23  -   
XCNuse
Moderator
 
XCNuse's Avatar
 
Racername: XCNuse
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Atlanta ,GA
Posts: 8,090
XCNuse's online stats
you guys are forgetting that LFS is a CPU based game, not graphics, which PS3 is mainly made for, all platforms have really bad CPU cores (under 1GHz normally), LFS would hardly be enjoyable on a platform

er... okay i just take that back, i just looked it up and PS3 has 3.2 GHz core
not much ram though...
__________________

Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2007, 02:19   #24  -   
Gunn
Moderator
 
Gunn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 4,379
Gunn's online stats
How many PS3 owners would have a keyboard to assign all of LFS' commands to keys? A console controller just isn't going to cut it.
__________________
"Getting old is a fascinating thing. The older you get, the older you want to get." - Keith Richards.
Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2007, 02:46   #25  -   
Hankstar
S2 licensed
 
Hankstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 3,755
Hankstar's online stats
It would if they were cunning enough to use the controller as a binary (or trinary) keypad - though I believe you'd need to be as cunning as a fox who was Dean of Cunning at Cambridge...

BTW, nice avatar there Gunn Freaks rule.
__________________

Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2007, 06:58   #26  -   
Jakg
S2 licensed
 
Jakg's Avatar
 
Racername: UKCT..Jakg
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: East Anglia, UK
Posts: 19,097
Jakg's online stats
Quote:
Originally Posted by XCNuse View Post
er... okay i just take that back, i just looked it up and PS3 has 3.2 GHz core
not much ram though...
it mighgt be 3.2, but it isn't really comparable to anything, plus the Cell is relegated to doing a task different to what it was designed to do

Anyway, if you dropped as much money on your PC as you did on a PS3 it would play LFS fine
Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2007, 13:56   #27  -   
MadCatX
S2 licensed
 
Racername: M4DC4T
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Prague (Praha)
Posts: 3,036
MadCatX's online stats
That 3.2 Cell CPU should be the way faster than x86 architecture-based crap used in PC. x86 arch is and ever was not good, it uses non-unified length of instructions which requires CPU to detect it's length before doing decoding. That makes some significant performance loss that is not present on RISC arch-based systems. Instruction decoding should be also easier and x86 to RISC conversion which modern CPUs do is also not neccessary. So the result is, Cell CPU is faster than x86 PC CPU. Problem is that moving to more advanced arch in COU world is impossible because of compatibility...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marin2
Quote:
It is!!! I know a guy who installed a speedometer from chinese scooter on his WRX and after that he couldn't go faster than 100km/h!
Well, well...now it looks that there is something in the mistery of speedoo unblocking:-)
Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2008, 08:37   #28  -   
G. Dierckx
S2 licensed
 
Racername: G. Dierckx
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ekeren, Belgium
Posts: 119
G. Dierckx's online stats
download http://www.terrasoftsolutions.com/support/downloads/ burn on cd, install wine and try to install lfs
Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2008, 08:50   #29  -   
kruuvi
S2 licensed
 
kruuvi's Avatar
 
Racername: Priit`.
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Estonia
Posts: 64
kruuvi's online stats
PS3 cpu has 8 cell's, all with speed of 3.2GHz. You install Linux + Wine and you are able to play LFS very well, PS3 supports USB mice and keyboard tho.
__________________

Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2008, 09:04   #30  -   
dawesdust_12
S2 licensed
 
dawesdust_12's Avatar
 
Racername: UKCT..Dustin
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Nanaimo, BC
Posts: 11,815
dawesdust_12's online stats
Quote:
Originally Posted by G. Dierckx View Post
download http://www.terrasoftsolutions.com/support/downloads/ burn on cd, install wine and try to install lfs
Wine will not compile on a PPC system (only x86 and similar), thus making LFS on a PS3 impossible, or if possible (via a x86 CPU emulator) REALLY REALLY REALLY SLOW!

Kruuvi - the PS3 can't run WINE for reasons explained above.
__________________
I love scotch. :) :D
I'm Bender, yes I'm the real Bender All you other Benders are just imitating So won't The Real Bender please stand up Please stand up, please stand up?

Reply With Quote
Reply

  Live for Speed > Main > Technical Assistance

  • Submit Thread to Digg
  • Submit Thread to del.icio.us
  • Submit Thread to StumbleUpon
  • Submit Thread to Google

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 21:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Live for Speed © 2002-2014 - Scawen Roberts, Eric Bailey, Victor van Vlaardingen