Live for Speed - LFS Main Site
- LFS World
- LFS News
- LFS Manual
- LFS Merchandise
  http://www.liveforspeed.se/

Go Back   Live for Speed > Other > Off Topic

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 6th April 2010, 13:29   #2011  -   
troy
S2 licensed
 
troy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,512
troy's online stats
It's on the official site now too.

http://www.netkar-pro.com/download.htm
__________________
Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2010, 13:32   #2012  -   
DieKolkrabe
S2 licensed
 
DieKolkrabe's Avatar
 
Racername: Fang
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ireland/UK
Posts: 4,513
DieKolkrabe's online stats
And out of activations
__________________
IMA TBO Challenge:
"OH NO!!! OUR CAMERAMAN TIMED OUT!"
Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2010, 13:42   #2013  -   
Bean0
S2 licensed
 
Bean0's Avatar
 
Racername: CR|S.Baker
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Newcastle, UK
Posts: 5,294
Bean0's online stats
Quote:
Originally Posted by DieKolkrabe View Post
And out of activations
I thought you just needed to copy over your drivers folder ?
__________________
http://www.Bean0.com

+++ Divide By Cucumber Error. Please Reinstall Universe And Reboot +++
Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2010, 13:57   #2014  -   
BlackEye
S2 licensed
 
BlackEye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Split, Croatia
Posts: 594
BlackEye's online stats
It even says so in bold on the download page

Of course, my PC has to be broken ATM.
With my luck, even LFS patch will be released while it's in the shop
__________________
zZzZzZzZzZz
Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2010, 14:18   #2015  -   
5haz
S2 licensed
 
5haz's Avatar
 
Racername: Various
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: E London
Posts: 6,018
5haz's online stats
S'all good as per usual, just one thing, is anyone else having the graphical bug where the car's shadow repeats infinitely across the land? Whilst its very mesmerising it's also very distracting too.
Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2010, 14:22   #2016  -   
DieKolkrabe
S2 licensed
 
DieKolkrabe's Avatar
 
Racername: Fang
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ireland/UK
Posts: 4,513
DieKolkrabe's online stats
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bean0 View Post
I thought you just needed to copy over your drivers folder ?
HD fire FTL

So lack of folders

Support asked
__________________
IMA TBO Challenge:
"OH NO!!! OUR CAMERAMAN TIMED OUT!"
Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2010, 14:41   #2017  -   
The Moose
S2 licensed
 
The Moose's Avatar
 
Racername: RSR.Moose
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 4,195
The Moose's online stats
Quote:
Originally Posted by troy View Post
It's on the official site now too.

http://www.netkar-pro.com/download.htm

Yup, and just to confirm, the Final is the same build as the RC, so if you've downloaded that there's no need to grab it again.


Most important is to remove the old netKar PRO folder in mydocuments before installing the RC/Final (AFTER BACKING UP YOU DRIVERS and LICENSE FOLDERS ) Some weird stuff will happen if you don't.

This is a fresh install, not a patch. Don't install it over a previous beta.

...and dont use old setups.


Some of the addon tracks have a problem. you can still use them but there are some objects that will cause an instant teleport back to the pits. Hopefully the fixes wont be to long.

Last edited by The Moose; 6th April 2010 at 14:45.
Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2010, 14:53   #2018  -   
DieKolkrabe
S2 licensed
 
DieKolkrabe's Avatar
 
Racername: Fang
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ireland/UK
Posts: 4,513
DieKolkrabe's online stats
Which tracks work best?
__________________
IMA TBO Challenge:
"OH NO!!! OUR CAMERAMAN TIMED OUT!"
Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2010, 16:06   #2019  -   
The Moose
S2 licensed
 
The Moose's Avatar
 
Racername: RSR.Moose
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 4,195
The Moose's online stats
Quote:
Originally Posted by DieKolkrabe View Post
Which tracks work best?
Not got round to testing them yet. You will get an error if it's one of the ones with a problem, or so I've been told. You can still drive them apparently, but might get a teleport back to the pits if you come into contact with certain objects.

Spa seems fine... only addon track I've tried.

I should have a list of what works ok later.
Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2010, 16:34   #2020  -   
DieKolkrabe
S2 licensed
 
DieKolkrabe's Avatar
 
Racername: Fang
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ireland/UK
Posts: 4,513
DieKolkrabe's online stats
I'll grab Spa

Any progress with the track editor?
__________________
IMA TBO Challenge:
"OH NO!!! OUR CAMERAMAN TIMED OUT!"
Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2010, 17:05   #2021  -   
The Moose
S2 licensed
 
The Moose's Avatar
 
Racername: RSR.Moose
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 4,195
The Moose's online stats
Quote:
Originally Posted by DieKolkrabe View Post
Any progress with the track editor?

What progress would you like ? It's there and it works..just no documentation to tell you how to use it

Hopefully one of my teamates at Lastplace or Jaap will release a guide soon. Cant say when though.

The main work still has to be done in 3ds Max. The KOFLite tool is just really for the final stuff to get it into netKar. Our guy Juha worked most of it out himself iirc, so anyone with experience of this sort of stuff should be able to I reckon.
Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2010, 19:02   #2022  -   
DieKolkrabe
S2 licensed
 
DieKolkrabe's Avatar
 
Racername: Fang
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ireland/UK
Posts: 4,513
DieKolkrabe's online stats
Was meaning docs
__________________
IMA TBO Challenge:
"OH NO!!! OUR CAMERAMAN TIMED OUT!"
Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2010, 19:08   #2023  -   
The Moose
S2 licensed
 
The Moose's Avatar
 
Racername: RSR.Moose
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 4,195
The Moose's online stats
Quote:
Originally Posted by DieKolkrabe View Post
Was meaning docs
Just gonna have to wait I'm afraid...or jump in feet first and hope you can swim
Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2010, 20:11   #2024  -   
NightShift
S2 licensed
 
NightShift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,208
NightShift's online stats
Quote:
Originally Posted by GFresh View Post
Hmm, thanks for that, but that doesn't solve the problem for me.
I do remember Kunos and others suggested to try playing with Vsync and Triple Buffering. That didn't work for me but may be worth a try.
Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2010, 20:21   #2025  -   
GFresh
S2 licensed
 
GFresh's Avatar
 
Racername: CR|K.Doughty
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Nuneaton - UK
Posts: 1,337
GFresh's online stats
Thanks, i will give that a try
__________________
CR|K.Doughty - MY SIMULATOR
PSN - gfresh1982
Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2010, 21:38   #2026  -   
Test Driver
S2 licensed
 
Test Driver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Axis of Evil
Posts: 275
Test Driver's online stats
The malicious lift-off-oversteer when driving the 1600 is gone now, what a pity. I really liked the way it was in step 3/3, the way you had to play with the throttle and brakes to go through the corners, always close to losing control.
__________________

Online Patience Simulator
What the internet knows about you
Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2010, 00:05   #2027  -   
lvlo
S2 licensed
 
lvlo's Avatar
 
Racername: [AA] lvlo
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Moscow
Posts: 145
lvlo's online stats
Quote:
Originally Posted by GFresh View Post
So last time i checked, we only had 2/3, so i downloaded 3/3 yesterday, and it's won't work. It freezes every time i try to get on track, at the same point, which is when it's loading "shadow.nko". Quite frustrating when every previous version of nKPro has worked just fine
Try to correct folder' permission if you have Windows 7/Vista and NKP is installed in "Program Files":

Right click on NKP folder -> Properties -> Security tab -> Edit (in the right of "To change permissions click edit") -> Choose "Users/..." in list -> check in "Full Control" and "Modify" -> click Apply and OK.

I had the same "freezes" issue and tip posted above helped me.
Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2010, 03:16   #2028  -   
Mattesa
S2 licensed
 
Mattesa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada.
Posts: 540
Mattesa's online stats
Just some thoughts:

  • Feels different than prev. version immediately.
  • Oversteer more recoverable by countersteering
  • FFB seems more forceful
  • Still feels odd with respect to entry/exit to oversteer
  • Once oversteer the car seems to slip forever...
  • ...then it regains grip in a very sudden manner...
  • ...then it snap spins in the other direction with seemingly no provocation....?

It just doesn't come naturally or control naturally the way LFS or real life does in grip-slide-recover.
Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2010, 07:17   #2029  -   
GFresh
S2 licensed
 
GFresh's Avatar
 
Racername: CR|K.Doughty
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Nuneaton - UK
Posts: 1,337
GFresh's online stats
Quote:
Originally Posted by lvlo View Post
Try to correct folder' permission if you have Windows 7/Vista and NKP is installed in "Program Files":

Right click on NKP folder -> Properties -> Security tab -> Edit (in the right of "To change permissions click edit") -> Choose "Users/..." in list -> check in "Full Control" and "Modify" -> click Apply and OK.

I had the same "freezes" issue and tip posted above helped me.
Thanks, but i don't have it installed in Program Files.

Anyways, i have it working now, finally. A GPU driver re-install and yet another restart seemed to solve the problem...
__________________
CR|K.Doughty - MY SIMULATOR
PSN - gfresh1982
Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2010, 09:27   #2030  -   
tristancliffe
S2 licensed
 
tristancliffe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Norwich
Posts: 15,921
tristancliffe's online stats
Quote:
Originally Posted by Test Driver View Post
The malicious lift-off-oversteer when driving the 1600 is gone now, what a pity. I really liked the way it was in step 3/3, the way you had to play with the throttle and brakes to go through the corners, always close to losing control.
Not played 1.1 yet (downloaded it last night, but not installed yet), but that is how the 1600 should be - a constant state of 4 wheel drifts, using the throttle to define the clipping and exit point as you turn in. If that has gone then it's immediately a step backwards.

I'll play in the F3 car and see if he's got that going nicely.
__________________
F3, LFS, nKPro, rF, GTR2, CARS & GT5 Licenced
Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2010, 09:31   #2031  -   
The Moose
S2 licensed
 
The Moose's Avatar
 
Racername: RSR.Moose
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 4,195
The Moose's online stats
Quote:
Originally Posted by tristancliffe View Post
I'll play in the F3 car and see if he's got that going nicely.
Just don't use your old setups... They can cause weird physics anomalies.

I found I had to use very different setup parameters than previously. I'm interested to know if Kunos is headed in the right direction, as I know you weren't impressed with that aspect previously.

Either way, I love the way the cars feel now. Mainly been testing the F2000 and I have it feeling great now. Beautifully controllable, and unlike Mattesa I find it behaves completely naturally, and I don't suffer form the "snapping" that he talks about. Probably a setup/wheel setup thing.

Last edited by The Moose; 7th April 2010 at 10:42.
Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2010, 17:29   #2032  -   
Mattesa
S2 licensed
 
Mattesa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada.
Posts: 540
Mattesa's online stats
My opinions are based on the F1600 around Aosta, that's my control combo. Wheel setup is the same as ever, and the car setup is default.

I need to drive it more, but that's what came to mind.
Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2010, 18:55   #2033  -   
NightShift
S2 licensed
 
NightShift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,208
NightShift's online stats
Quote:
Originally Posted by tristancliffe View Post
but that is how the 1600 should be - a constant state of 4 wheel drifts, using the throttle to define the clipping and exit point as you turn in. If that has gone then it's immediately a step backwards.
Not at all, in beta 3 the 1600 was totally undriftable and also completely unbelievable as a rookie car, only the 1800 was more difficult to handle...
Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2010, 15:54   #2034  -   
The Moose
S2 licensed
 
The Moose's Avatar
 
Racername: RSR.Moose
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 4,195
The Moose's online stats
Is there anyone that could host the netKar Pro v1.1 final package on an FTP, even just for one day.

A league I'm running in needs a direct download as their server wont download from any of the free filehosting sites.

Any help would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2010, 16:17   #2035  -   
The Moose
S2 licensed
 
The Moose's Avatar
 
Racername: RSR.Moose
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 4,195
The Moose's online stats
Problem solved. Thanks for the quick response!
Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2010, 13:07   #2036  -   
CoolColJ
Demo Racer
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,151
CoolColJ's online stats
Well the physics have certainly changed!

The tyres now have much more bite, and you can actually catch slides and drift the car in the demo
before it felt more like the 370z in the GT5 Time Trial

Nice and driveable, even with a Logitech dual stick control pad
Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2010, 14:37   #2037  -   
NightShift
S2 licensed
 
NightShift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,208
NightShift's online stats
Dish of the day on DrivingItalia: several people have been complaining about the steering wheel getting light on the F1600 when you apply more than some lock (a temporary solution has been found already)

Some sparks were sent flying when someone added the F1600 in 1.1 Final felt like an arcade game and that it was much better in Beta3 (which is just plain silliness). Kunos and Markus were obviously not happy with this and both took the chance to rant a bit about the community.

And while they do have a point (well Markus as usual overdid it...), it still does look like something is wrong with the 1600 (in my first 5min test I actually mistook it for weight being shifted back under acceleration...)

Including an old ChangeLog in the RC/Final bundle also contributed to more (avoidable) confusion. Things like this may look small but they all add up. Meh.

Back to the point, increasing the caster fixes the issue for the time being.
Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2010, 15:37   #2038  -   
Hoshimodo
S2 licensed
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: 192.168.0.2
Posts: 459
Hoshimodo's online stats
Quote:
Originally Posted by NightShift View Post

Back to the point, increasing the caster fixes the issue for the time being.
That really did the trick NightShift, thanks a lot I always wonder why these tweaks or rather interim solutions aren't posted in the official english forum over at Driving Italia. I guess it's better to learn some Italian
__________________

Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2010, 16:56   #2039  -   
The Moose
S2 licensed
 
The Moose's Avatar
 
Racername: RSR.Moose
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 4,195
The Moose's online stats
Better still, forget the 1600 altogether and get the 1800 out. It's amazing
Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2010, 18:32   #2040  -   
BlackEye
S2 licensed
 
BlackEye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Split, Croatia
Posts: 594
BlackEye's online stats
Could someone record a lap or two?

I can't try it out 'till thursday and I'm getting little nervous
__________________
zZzZzZzZzZz
Reply With Quote
Reply

  Live for Speed > Other > Off Topic

  • Submit Thread to Digg
  • Submit Thread to del.icio.us
  • Submit Thread to StumbleUpon
  • Submit Thread to Google

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Live for Speed © 2002-2014 - Scawen Roberts, Eric Bailey, Victor van Vlaardingen