The online racing simulator
Help with a 3 race weekend type server
Guys

I’ve been racing in LFS since May 2003 and I usually get only an hour or so to race during my lunch. One of the things I used to love about the CTRA was the competitiveness that the points system gave to a race. Winning a race wasn’t just about that once race, it was about accumulating points, improving your license. However I also found frustration in that others who had higher licenses had higher status simply because they had been around longer. What I therefore desire is the satisfaction of attaining race points that contribute to something bigger, yet the results are only short term and achievable in the short hour I take for lunch.
So my challenge was to define a set of races, that would range between 30-45 mins, give some feeling of achievement beyond the single race but also existed for only that short time. Hence the three race weekend scheme. It breaks down into this. To me the beauty of such a short “event” is that if you screw up qualifying, or get knocked out of one race, you still have a chance to compete and also the impact of this exists for a short period of time. Also those that have been “in the system” for a long time are as equal as those who’ve just started to race in terms of status. Of course their racing skills will set them apart… simply put, your long term rank/points/best time don’t matter, only your performance in the three races.

The structure is as follows
  • One class per race. So that’s TBA, FOX, etc.
  • Each event is at one track, after 1 qualification and 3 races, the combination of car and track changes.
  • Car and track combination are selected to keep lap times under a maximum average of around 1 minute 50 seconds. You’ll not have UF1 on KY3.
  • Race 1 and 2 are short, designed to be around 5-7 minutes. Race 3 is double this to add some tension and build up to the final race.