The online racing simulator
rev counter UBS board
(17 posts, started )
rev counter UBS board
Hi.
I have designed and produced a board to connect an aftermarket rev counter to the PC USB port.

It works with Live for Speed but also with other simulators.

Am I allowed to post a link to Ebay where these boards are being sold?

Thanks
#2 - Rux
Dont know but pm me please
#3 - PoVo
Sure you are allowed, i think many people will buy, good luck
Hi, looks good, I’m new to sim racing etc and I’m an easily confused noob...
I'm looking to build a simulator in the garage using an old dashboard from a car... this will obviously include a tacho and speedo...

i) Will this work with any tacho from a 4 cylinder? (i see from YouTube vid that it mentions 4 cylinder engine??)
ii) How do I attach the USB to tacho to make it work... (general idea as i appreciate the whole technicalities with all the types of tachos on the market)
iii) What is the software - home grown software by you or configured through LFS or one that can be downloaded.
iv) any chance of making one for a speedo?

Thanks
Dave
Hi.

This board is supposed to work with any tachometer. I have tested 5 different models and they worked fine. All the tachometers work in the same way so I feel confident you can't find one not supported.

The tacho has at least 3 wires: 12V and ground for the power, and a control wire to drive the niddle. If the tacho has the light (very likely) you have another pair of wires which go to the 12V and the ground again. So the board has 3 terminals: the 12V, the ground and the control terminal, where you connect the 3 (or 5) wires from the tacho.

I wrote the software myself. It is an external application with plugins. Every plugin supports a different simulator. In this way it is more modular and when I want to support a new simulator I just have to add a new plugin. Only two days ago I added the plugin for IRacing.