The online racing simulator
Disconnection Notification
(14 posts, started )
With all the test patches of late, particularly since U18 (the one which had the aero hack) i've noticed disconnects have risen to an alarming level. I have never personally experienced disconnects until recently, I run U20 and experienced my first when connected to a U20 server. I experienced my second the other day when connected to a U server. My guess is the host isn't the problem.

I've noticed some drivers complaining that recently LFS has become far less stable, and as a server admin i've found myself in the situation where i've had to move the racing to another server in an effort to reduce disconnects.

I'm wondering if these increased disconnects are related to a CPW feature in an effort to get rid of the aero hack, but is a misjudgement by LFS. Could LFS make it more clear when disconnecting what the reason was with a text message?, even if it's a technical report, it would help enourmously in resolving problems - particularly where league racing is concerned.
Just been trying to race online just a week ago. Incesssant disconnects for unexplained reasons.

Couldn't do a single race properly thanks to unexplained lag and disconnects. This at 2 digit pings.
I've never had any disconnection problems, ever, since I bought the game in the Q era.

Actually, the number of disconnections, including time outs since 2005 august must be below 10, and I havent formatted/defrag my HD for 3 years.

Guess I'm lucky
Don't have any disconnection problems here, either. The test patches had no effect on that for me.
Somehow I have a feeling that alot of these disconnects we keep reading about are because of ISPs revising their traffic shaping policies. Atleast two threads I noticed recently ended up with a user finding out it was the result of some limitation or network scheme imposed by their ISP.
I'd say in the whole time i've had LFS (4 years) i've had 3 or 4 unexplained discos...